We were thrilled to have such a strong lineup this season and are thankful to all the filmmaking teams. The audience and jurors have spoken and we have a few award winners to announce!

Cogeco People’s Choice Award for Best Feature Film
Voted by audience
Winner: The Family of the Forest (dir. Laura Rietveld)
Sponsor: Cogeco

Best Canadian Short Film
Voted by jury
Jurors: Emily Pelstring, John Greyson, Gabriel Menotti
Winner: Split Ends (dir. Alireza Kazemipour)
Sponsor: RBC Wealth Management | Dominion Securities

Best Youth Short Film
Voted by jury
Jurors: Thom Ernst, Nicola Luksic
Winner: Reflected Figures (dir. Keira Wolfe)
Sponsor: Ontario Power Generation

Best Local Short Film
Voted by jury
Jurors: Helen Lee, Elisa Paloschi, Richard Goddard
Winner: Chaka Chikodzi (dir. Naomi Okabe)
Sponsor: St. Lawrence College

Slaight Music Video Showcase – Favourite Video
Voted by audience
Winner: Little Friday Productions + Tiny Horse – “The Girls”
Sponsor: The Slaight Family Foundation

Slaight Music Video Showcase – Best Video
Voted by jury
Jurors: Sarah Harmer, Hugh Dillon, Jeff Pearce, Javiera Quintana
Outpost 12 Studios with Visual Menace Creative + Kasador – “Lock On”
Sponsor: The Slaight Family Foundation

The Douglas J. Falconer Award of Excellence
To recognize an outstanding regional filmmaker, both emerging and excelling in their field, and with a film in the KCFF23 lineup.
Voted by jury
Jurors: Douglas J. Falconer Board + Committee members
Winner: Tess Girard
Film: Shelter