Local Shorts

KCFF-Poster-v2Deadline has passed for KCFF’15!

Past Steam Whistle Home Brew Award Winners:

  • 2014 – Digging Up Plato (Leigh Ann Bellamy)
  • 2013 – Anna (Kat Rush)
  • 2012 – Give it up Charlie! (Aidan Payne)
  • 2011 – Impressions (Eric Ferguson, Tristan Tiggeloven, Kevin Ikeda, Deborah Hong and Elizabeth Lindsay)


Only new Canadian films made by Canadian filmmakers will be considered. To qualify for the Local Shorts Program, a film must:

  • Have been filmed within 100 km of Kingston, Ontario or
  • Have been written or directed by a current or former Kingstonian or
  • Have a connection to the Kingston-area, as deemed appropriate by KCFF
  • Have a maximum length of 12 minutes (our 2012 winner was 70 seconds!)

Requirements for Submission:

  • 2 copies of DVD or Bluray screening clearly labeled with your name, contact information and the film’s title, running time, and format
  • A brief biography of the filmmaker(s)
  • A complete credit list
  • Completed submission form

NOTE: submission to the Local Shorts Program is FREE
NOTE: there is a cash prize awarded to best local short, as voted by Local Shorts Program jury
Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2015

Send Submissions to:
Mail: KCFF / Main PO Box 70 / Kingston, ON / K7L 4V6 or
Drop off: 1) KCFF office at 82 Sydenham Street, drop box on east side of building.
Or, 2) Queen’s University Department of Film & Media office in the Isabel Bader Centre, 390 King St. West